What I Learned About Starting a Blog As a Newbie!

What I Learned About Starting a Blog As a Newbie!

As a new blogger I have been doing research. I have combed Pinterest and Google for the best advice and tips on how to become successful at this. The number of articles I have read on the subject are mind numbing, but I have learned a few things.

  1. You have to spend money to make money. It’s an old saying that I have heard many times throughout my life, and frankly I have tried to avoid spending money on anything, except crafts. The fact is, if you want to look professional you need to cough up a little cash (and I plan on doing that as soon as I have the cash to cough up.)

    What I Learned About Starting a Blog As a Newbie!
    Photo by DWNTWN Collective. on Unsplash
  2. You DON’T need to buy everything you are told to buy. One thing I have noticed is the blogs are usually promoting a product and they will claim that it is the most important thing that helped them become successful. After reading so many of these I have created a list of the things that really are what helped them become successful.What I Learned About Starting a Blog As a Newbie!
  3. Own your domain. Again, I haven’t been able to cough up the cash to do this yet, however being the owner of your domain (your .com address) helps to make you look professional and others will take you seriously.What I Learned About Starting a Blog As a Newbie!
  4. Use eye-catching graphics It is important to make sure your images are as clean and polished as possible. This is one thing you don’t need to spend money on. The average Pinterest size is 900 x 1400 pixels. There are several websites that have thousands of free stock photos.
    1. Pexels
    2. Pixabay
    3. Kaboompics
    4. Unsplash
    5. SplitShire
  1. Pinterest group boards. It’s hard to get into some of the big group boards, but I have been invited to a few. There is a free site that lets you search them by category, pingroupie.com What I Learned About Starting a Blog As a Newbie!
  2. Use Tailwind to promote your pins. (No, I am not being paid to say that.) This is a program that automatically pins your boards throughout the day in order to give you the best chance of having an audience.
  3. BE YOURSELF! It doesn’t matter what your subject is or how over-saturated the blog market is, as long as you are true to yourself and write what you are interested in you will stick it out through the hard times and find your success (however you plan to measure it).What I Learned About Starting a Blog As a Newbie!

Leave a comment